New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Fal
Hatchling

United Kingdom
245 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2010 :  17:40:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi folks, after several weeks, we are now happy Bella's mites are finally gone and want to switch back to using Aspen again. Although I don't think it was the Aspen that had the mites, but rather we think she had them when we got her (most likely), I want to be careful, so after a second thorough cleaning of her fake plant/faunarium/water bowl etc etc... I decided to cook the Aspen before we put it in her faun. Well, I think I blasted it as it's gone slightly brown :/ Will this be ok? It doesn't smell now its cooled down but just wondered what folks thought? My bro said I cooked it too high temp (probably true, i'm a terrible cook lol) as he has cooked his Aspen and it didn't happen to him.

Anyway cheers all and I will get more photos on of her as previously promised as soon as I find my bloomin usb adapter for my camera phone :( lol

Corn Snake - Bella. Bearded Dragon - Draco. Leopard Gecko - Mojo. Cat - Neo. In our family we also have: Cali King Snake, Spiny Flower Mantis (RIP), African Lined Mantis (RIP), Ghost Mantis (RIP), four Hermit Crabs, a Budgy and a Dog - Mystie... oh and a YAMAHA YZF-R1 but she's feeling a bit neglected at the moment :(

DannyBrown91
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3070 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2010 :  17:47:48  Show Profile  Click to see DannyBrown91's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
It is extremely rare that bedding will have mites on as it comes from a factory which is totally none related too snakes. I wouldn't bother baking any substrate unless i had to in order to dry it out.

As for wether you should use it, i wouldn't have thought it would be a problem.

0.0.1 Ghost Corn - Casper
0.0.1 Diffused Corn - Reggie
0.0.1 Amel Corn - Candy A.K.A Baby
1.0 Commom BCI - Rocky

0.1 Japanese Akita - Sasha

Go to Top of Page

Fal
Hatchling