Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Figs
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3319 Posts

Posted - 05/02/2010 :  20:20:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
sorry... i'm completely new to snakes!
(i have got lots of lizards though)

i'd appreciate your opinions on this if its no too much trouble.
I'm thinking of getting myself a baby corn some time.
Would this be ok to house one in?
http://www.thepet-shoponline.co.uk/komodo-snake-hatchling-starter-kit-3122-p.asp
and if so, for how long about?
i was thinking of using paper towels instead of the aspen though - just in case :)

and jumping the gun a little here... would an adult corn be happy in a 5x2' wooden viv?

i'd just like to get all the info i can before i run out and buy my snake
thanks!

SexyBear77
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3796 Posts

Posted - 05/02/2010 :  20:26:19  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
General rule of thumb is length of snake= length +depth of housing (viv, faun etc.) So the faun in the set should do your snake till it is 58cm long.

However, that set doesn't include a thermostat- these bits of kit are ESSENTIAL for making sure your snake doesn't get cooked. Stats cost about £20-45 depending on model.

Paper towels are always a good idea with young corns as you can easily spot parasites, poo etc.

As for adult snakes, a 3x2 viv is fine for most adults. 5 foot is BIG for a corn, my 5 foot 6 male is in a 4 footer and its huge!

9.11 Cornsnakes
1.1 Hogg island boas
1.0 Dwarf Burmese python

Website- http://rassnakes.yolasite.com/
Go to Top of Page

elament
Yearling

United Kingdom
942 Posts

Posted - 05/02/2010 :  20:27:35  Show Profile  Send elament a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote