New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

AngelX
Hatchling

United Kingdom
252 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2010 :  09:25:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Okk, this might sound a bit stupid but I have never bred corn snakes before so I want to make sure I do everything perfect when I do breed my two.
Okk,
How long do you keep the male and female together?

Who's viv do you put the other one into? The male in female's viv or vice versa

What do you need for the female when she is pregnant to ensure she is comfortable when giving birth etc?

If the girl is giving birth in batches sort of thing, do I wait until she has given birth to all of hem before I move the eggs into the incubator? Or take them out as soon as I see them?

What is best for the incubator? Spagnum moss or anything else?

Sorry there are lots of questions but I'm a newbie to everything, any answers to the questions will be appreciated!!

mikerichards
don't say the 'M' word!

United Kingdom
2901 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2010 :  12:05:59  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well, breeding naturally occurs in the period of time almost immeadiately after hibernation, so the best thing is to keep the pair separate all year, hibernate them for anywhere between 4 weeks to 5 months, i do mine from october to feb, dropping the temps gradually over a few weeks.
Always make sure that the last feed has passed properly before dropping the temps, thats important as food doesnt get digested when in hibernation, so rots in the stomach. Once they are down, temps down to about 18 degrees c, just leave them, dont get them out, dont feed, do move, just nothing, except change water, dont be tempted to handle at all. In the beginning of feb, i raise the temps by a couple of degrees the first week, then leave a week, and a bit more, till by the end of feb, mid march the temps are back to normal. At that point i will feed them, not much, but a good size.