New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

headlow
Hatchling

130 Posts

Posted - 08/06/2010 :  19:48:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all.

I was handling my 4 footish Corn earlier, and noticed that his backbone protrudes slightly. Is this as sign that he's on the thin side. He currently gets 1 medium mouse per week. He was on large mice for a while, but I was worried that he'd get fat.

Should I increase the food size, or could the visible backbone be a sign of another illness?

Many thanks,

Justin

1.0.0 Snow Corn

amanda121921
Hatchling

United Kingdom
100 Posts

Posted - 08/06/2010 :  19:55:15  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
im no expert but i guess a visable backbone could be an indication that he's a little on the thin size. how much does he weigh?were you weighing him while he was on the large mice?was he looking a bit porky or did you just change because you were worried he might get that way? sorry for all the questions but the answers might help someone with a little more experience be able to point you in the right direction.my kasey has started to get a slightly protruding backbone when he was off his food for a few months so apart from that, i've not got the experience to be able to help you. hopefully someone who can will be along soon to put your mind at rest

kaseysquidward
Go to Top of Page

headlow
Hatchling

130 Posts

Posted - 08/06/2010 :  20:03:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've no idea of his weight to be honest. I must get my finger out and weigh all my snakes.
He didn't look porky when he was on the large mice, but I was just worried that he would get that way.

To be honest I don't really think he's ill. He eats and poops OK, and is very active. He did have a very bad shed last week, but I think that was down to the fact that he didn't really make use of his moist hide.

1.0.0 Snow Corn
Go to Top of Page

HannahB
The Corn Snake Moderator

United Kingdom
5491 Posts