Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

n/a
deleted

20 Posts

Posted - 13/01/2009 :  18:55:38  Show Profile
Just got home now and found my sons baby bloodred corn snake has past away. GUTTED
As you may know I'm new to snakes and did a lot of research before getting one. I got him xmas eve and left him alone for several days to settle in. (The viv was all set up by the shop by the way complete with heat mat, hide, water bowl, thermometer etc) We fed him a pinkie which he kept down ok and again left him alone for 2 days. We then started handling him fo 10 to 15mins a day thereafter.We then tried to feed him again 5 days after his first feed but he regurgitated it 24 hours later. I removed the pinkie and left him for 10 days as suggested by the shop. During this time he was quite active. I again tried to feed him and he took the pinkie fine that was on Sunday afternoon and again left him alone. We found the pinkie this morning and a lifeless snake this afternoon. Can anyone tell me where I have gone wrong ??????. My son is really upset and I have promised him another one but don't want this to happen again.

When i went to pick him up the original snake I choose had stopped feeding so I came home with this one instead.

The only thing I have just noticed is there has been no stool in the viv. (not sure what to look for but pooh is pooh)The temp in the cool side is 25C so I think the temp is ok. HELP PLEASE !!!!!!!!

1 Ghost Corn Cecilia
1 Ultramel Corn Cecil
2 Dogs
4 Kids

Blackecho
The Corn Snake Admin

United Kingdom
4379 Posts

Posted - 13/01/2009 :  19:04:08  Show Profile  Click to see Blackecho's MSN Messenger address  Send Blackecho a Yahoo! Message
What was the temp at the hot end? - Was the temperature controlled by a thermostat?

To be honest though, there's not much you could do too wrong in 3 weeks.

www.theroyalpython.co.uk/forum

Go to Top of Page

n/a
deleted

20 Posts

Posted - 13/01/2009 :  19:26:06  Show Profile