Injured snake
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

1 Posts

Posted - 09/12/2008 :  22:30:19  Show Profile
Hello, I would appreciate some advice please. My young corn snake escaped from his vivarium. I found him tonight and am afraid to say my cat has injured him. There are scratches where a claw has pierced his scales and torn them off. The exposed membrane has not been pierced. Is this likely to heal or should I contact a vet? I'm not sure if our vet would be able to to do anything for him. He seems fine and is back in his vivarium with the lid made more secure. Thanks in advance for any advice.

matty18714
The Count of Corniness

United Kingdom
4428 Posts

Posted - 09/12/2008 :  22:33:09  Show Profile
Can you show us any pictures? A vet check is probably a good idea.

Go to Top of Page

Jennet
Hatchling

United Kingdom
305 Posts

Posted - 09/12/2008 :  22:40:15  Show Profile
Hi... I'm fairly new to snakes, and from what I have read, their skin injuries heal as they shed their skins.

However, the thing I would be most likely to worried about if you say the scratches have not penetrated more than the top layer is the possibility of infection setting in from cats claws.

I cannot even offer advice about using things like watered down human antiseptics, as I would on certain other animals scrapes, as I really do not know how these chemicals may affect a snake. I am also not sure how shock affects reptiles. Hopefully someone who knows more than I do will see your post soon and be able to help.... Really sorry to hear about the injuries.

Corns (as indeed most snakes) are apparently fantastic escape artists, so I really cannot stress enough the importance of ensuring your viv is really secure.

www.thecornsake.co.uk
www.thehognosesnake.co.uk
www.theamphibian.co.uk
Go to Top of Page

Kehhlyr
ǝʞɐɔ sǝʌoן

United Kingdom
8173 Posts