constricting
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

42 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2010 :  18:41:17  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hello there, i have recently purchased a corn snake (a black and white one, cant remember the morph name) he is about 7 months old and he feeds well, but i have noticed that he doesnt constrict his prey and i was wondereing if this is normal in younger snakes?

cheers

marc

n/a
deleted

120 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2010 :  18:44:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Black and white is possibley anery, though im far from an expert on morphs. Not all snakes constrict, they can smell the difference between a live prey item and something thats already dead, which I hope is what your using.

2.0 Normal Corn "Monty" "Charlie"
0.1 Amel Corn "May"
1.0 Western Hognose "Gerard"
Go to Top of Page

n/a
deleted

42 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2010 :  18:50:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
yeah its defrosted rat pups, i just wondered because looking at videos of corn snakes feeding they usually constrict, i try and make his food seem to be "alive" by moving it around the viv, its really fasinating watching him stalk.

good point though
Go to Top of Page

mozacchio
Sub Adult

Greece
1135 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2010 :  18:51:11  Show Profile  Click to see mozacchio's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hello and welcome to the forum..!
Don't worry about the constricting part!
Some don't constrict at all but my corn, Spaghettino constricted now, that he is 8 months old, for the first time!
Go to Top of Page

n/a
deleted

120 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2010 :  18:52:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Nah I wouldn't be worried about it, all of mine sometimes constrict and sometimes don't. You'll get a nice suprise the first time he does constrict

2.0 Normal Corn "Monty" "Charlie"
0.1 Amel Corn "May"
1.0 Western Hognose "Gerard"
Go to Top of Page

Sta~ple
qeeun speler

United Kingdom
6129 Posts