Can't work out wats wrong.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

59 Posts

Posted - 24/03/2010 :  02:05:14  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey guys I can't work out wats wrong with Steve. He is stupidly active, drinking fine and is sleeping like a log. He hasn't eaten in around 11-12weeks. I've been trying to but he's just not interested. He has also been what I can only describe as sneezing. I've taken him to the vet 3 times. On 2 of them he got an injection of batrylin or something spelled like that but the sneezing is still there. His temps in his tank are near to perfect and I'm checking them each day. He seems healthy but there must be something wrong, any ideas and help would be great. Ross

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 24/03/2010 :  05:12:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am no expert Ross and I cant answer about the sneezing, but his behaviour sounds very like what I went through with Kellog when I first got him. He immediately refused the 1st feed, was constantly cruising round his viv and trying to climb the walls and sneak out between the glass doors (impossible, but it didnt stop him trying!). He was drinking fine and in all other areas seemed normal. That is when I found the forum and they explained to me that it was down to him being horny.

This went on for 13 weeks. I followed their advice. Weighed him regularly to make sure there was no major weight loss (he only lost about 50g which in a snake that was over 600g was not a lot considering he didnt eat for that long). By doing this I could tell that it was a 'natural fast' as opposed to an 'unnatural' one, which may be caused by him being ill. Are you weighing Steve?