New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Suepersonic
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
5 Posts

Posted - 22/03/2012 :  03:01:17  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi. im new to snake keeping and just bought a 8 month old carolina cornsnake. I bought her a week ago and due for 1st feed tomorrow. I have been holding her 2 or 3 times a day and been loving it!! She seamed so placid and friendly. But tonight (1am) I opened her viv to put a new hidy tub in for her, and she rattled and struck out at me and the tub! It really unnerved me and upset me. she's never done it before. Should i leave her alone or put a glove on and handle her anyway? I don't want this to put me off, although my confidence will have taken a knock to say the least!! please help. Sue

oakleyman18
Yearling

828 Posts

Posted - 22/03/2012 :  07:34:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Usually it's best to leave them for a week without ANY handling once you get a new snake. This lets them settle in and get used to their new home and the sights, sounds and smells that come with it. I'd give her a bit more time to prepare herself before you get her out again.

Oscar Morrell
0.1.0. Tessera het Caramel Diffused Hypo ph Amel Anery CB'12 "Cassi", 0.1.0. Diffused Powder CB'12 "Ruby"
0.1.0. Normal Stripe, het Hypo, Amel, Lavender CB'11 "Amber", 1.0.0. Lavender Stripe het Diffused Anery Amel Hypo CB'11 "Pluto"
1.0.0. Hypo Opal Ph Stripe CB'12 "Hops", 1.0.0. Caramel Stripe het Amel CB'08 "Jasper", 1.0.0. Opal Stripe het Anery CB'09 "Topaz"
0.1.0. Amel Stripe het Caramel CB'09 "Poppy", 0.1.0. Tessera het Amel Lavender Stripe ph Diffused Hypo Anery CB'12 "Amethyst"
Go to Top of Page

claire_daz
Hatchling

United Kingdom
412 Posts

Posted - 22/03/2012 :  07:43:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello Sue n welcome congratulations on getting your first snakey

we have loads of advice and care sheet
http://www.thecornsnake.co.uk/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4133