New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Horse
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
11 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2012 :  13:54:51  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Colin has just shed for thr fist time since i got him in mid Dec. He showed all the signs and have found the shed skin about 3 pieces.

It his feed day tomorrow (Saturday).

Should i fed him as usual, and when i will be alright to handle him again? (obviously leave it for 48 hrs as usual)

smart bunny
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
5091 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2012 :  14:09:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am by no means an expert, quite a newbie - but I do know that it's fine to feed once they've shed so can answer this one! :)

Great news on a good 1st shed - you have to check the eyecaps and tail have shed properly. :)

Go to Top of Page

Horse
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
11 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2012 :  14:30:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
re eye caps..the head'shed'..no pun...was aal in one piece and from what i can tell is aperfect outline and contours of Colin's body...is this how it should be?

Go to Top of Page

smart bunny
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
5091 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2012 :  14:47:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes that's right - and you should be able to see the shed where the eyes would be, ie there should be 'skin'?? there, not holes. I hope this is making sense lol! Corno has only shed twice, and both times we've had to help her after her not getting anywhere after being left for a few days - and both times the only bit which did come off perfectly without any help was the head piece lol!

I'm definitely going to try putting a damp hide in for her next time she goes into blue, hopefully she'll manage on her own!

Go to Top of Page

Emmy1
Yearling

707 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2012 :  14:48:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote