New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

LucyB
Snake Mite

47 Posts

Posted - 26/05/2011 :  08:12:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone....
Elmo has been with us since Monday morning, and apart from water changes and sorting out the stat probe I have left him alone to settle in. The nerves are now stating to set in though with regards to our first handling session in the next few days!!! I have held a few snakes before and held Elmo for 10 minutes or so on Monday before bringing him home, but It has just occured to me that I have never picked one up and I'm a bit nervous! Any tips? I don't want to just grab him, frighten him, get bitten and lose my nerve forever?!!!!! I know that once I have done it once I'll be fine, but I tend to overthink these things and work myself up the first time!

tordyjo
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
2036 Posts

Posted - 26/05/2011 :  09:00:35  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm no expert, but when i first brought harry home i felt the same, i tend to stroke him somewhere near his tail so he know's i'm coming, was told to pick him up approx 1/3 way down his body, avoiding the head area, once i've picked him up, i let him pretty much crawl on me whereever he wants - within reason, good luck and enjoy

LillyCrystalHarry
1.2.0 corns, 1.1.0 cats tropical guppies who continually breed

Go to Top of Page

Rake
Hatchling

United Kingdom
200 Posts

Posted - 26/05/2011 :  09:16:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
the best trick is slow and steady and no sudden movements so you dont panic them, pick him up from the side never come from above and you will be fine its amazing how fast they get used to you and start to relax, hope it goes well for you

Go to Top of Page

Mamma
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
4494 Posts

Posted - 26/05/2011 :  09:29:37  Show Profile  Visit Mamma's Homepage  Reply with Quote