New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

shaunrp78
Egg

United Kingdom
50 Posts

Posted - 27/01/2011 :  19:14:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
my corn has not eaten for a few weeks but was told told 3 weeks is nothing to worry about.the people i had it off have been feeding it large mice but rarely eats it.ive tried it today on hoppers and it ate and love them.is it ok for me to give hoppers and is 2 enough?i did get a chick because they said it loves them but didnt give it after reading that its not advisable because it dont have the correct nutrients.its about 18 month old.also is there a way you can tell the sex without probing?i dont want to cause any distress.im a beginner at keeping snakes and loving every minute.was losing sleep over the not eating.lol.im one of lifes worryers i suppose.lol

herriotfan
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
5853 Posts

Posted - 27/01/2011 :  20:23:12  Show Profile  Click to see herriotfan's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
You must be really pleased that your snake has eaten! That's great. Now you need to gradually get him up to a mouse that's one and a half times the size of his girth at the widest part. No need to rush it, you don't want to put him off eating again. Give him a hooper every 5 days for a few times then double up and see if he'll take two. If he does that's great. Then you could move up a size and so on until he's eating the correct size at which point you could decrease his feeds to every 7 days. Just keep an eye on him and ask if you have any worries, we're here to help each other if we can. Meant to add that probing might be the best way to sex your snake, he might be too old for popping. Is it essential that you know his sex? Not sure if I'd want mine done just out of curiosity....

Husband....Very Understanding!!! (Phil)
Son & Daughter (Kevin & Carol)
Granddaughter (Eva)