Hiding Corn and Questions
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

19 Posts

Posted - 21/04/2009 :  21:41:10  Show Profile
Well i posted in the Welcome section and now have a couple of more questions as im new to snakes.

1st
Is it normal for corn snakes to hide all day in his cave? (only had him 2 days)

2nd,
Was thinking of making myself a bigger Vivarium as when i bought him from the reptile sanctuary his actually bigger than what the guy said he was. At the moment i have him in a 18" plastic tank but his actually longer than the length on the tank.

So im thinking of making one 3foot long. What lights heaters etc would i need for this?

3rd.
Will be feeding him tomorrow for the first time. The guy at sanctuary said he eats 2-3 pinkies every week. DOes that mean i feed him 2 tomorrow in one go?

4th.
Do i feed him in the same tank as his kept in?

Sorry for all the questions, as i said very new to this and hear different stories from pet shops etc... so thought its best to ask on here.

Spedz
Hatchling

United Kingdom
242 Posts

Posted - 21/04/2009 :  22:07:57  Show Profile  Click to see Spedz's MSN Messenger address
If you've only had him for 2 days, he'll be settling in - He'll be scared and a little stressed with the whole new move :)
The general consensus is length + height (So for a 4ft snake; a 3ft long by 1ft high viv is fine etc)
If you've only had him for 2 days, he may not eat.. Due to the stress of everything new. I'd give him a few more days before you try to feed him; leave it at least 5 days, a week is better

As for feeding - It's best to feed outside the viv in a separate tank etc.
If you feed him in his viv, he may accidentally eat some of his substrate.. And that can lead to all sorts of bad problems :(

Questions are always good, the more you know - the more informed you are, and this is more beneficial to your snake ^^

1.1.0 Corn Snake - 'Jasper' & 'Storm'