Different eating behaviour
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

915 Posts

Posted - 25/03/2009 :  21:03:00  Show Profile
Hey im new to keeping a snake so Im probably just over reacting but better safe than sorry lol
I’ve had my snow corn for about 2 and a half weeks now. She is around 1 and a half and seems to have settled in now but some things are bothering me about her.

Firstly, she seems to stay in her hide on the cold side ALL the time .. even when digesting, the temp is 76 - 78 F and sometimes raises to 80 F when the dryer is on in the kitchen (her viv is in the front room which is next to the kitchen).

Secondly, I fed her today for the 3rd time .. normally she strikes really hard from quite far away, constricts and is happy to eat in the open with me watching her, today though she went up really close to the mouse, didn’t strike with much force and took it back into her hide .. she is now sitting there with her head poking out her hide .. it just seems different to what she normally does.

Thirdly, I found what to me, looked like a mite in her water bowl the other day, her scales were a little raised on her side near her cloaca but I prodded around to see if I could see anything in the scales but I couldn’t .. I haven’t found any more on her or in her water bowl so it seems really weird ..

If someone could help I would really appreciate it ... like I said, im probably over reacting but I just want to make sure she is ok and im doing everything ok .. Thanks =]

0.1.0 Snow Corn Snake - Tof
1.0.0 Stripe Cali King - Su'tey
1.0.0 Staffordshire Bull Terrier x Rottweiler - Twix

Ell
Sub Adult

United Kingdom
1640 Posts

Posted - 26/03/2009 :  14:05:48  Show Profile  Click to see Ell's MSN Messenger address
Maybe she prefers the hide on the cold side and has an adversion to the other?