New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

35 Posts

Posted - 04/03/2009 :  22:05:49  Show Profile
Hello

New to this forum so please bear with me.

We got our first carolina corn from the pet shop yesterday. It was fed JUST before we took it home so we could see it feeding (it seems to "offer" feed rather than have food placed in its tank, which i understand is a good thing???

However, I am quite keen to handle it and was wondering if I should start immediately or give it time to settle into its new surroundings first.

Also, and this may sound stupid (but remember im a complete snake noob), i dont really know HOW to handle it? how do i pick it up? will it strike at me? if it does will i SH*T myself and run for the hills LOL.

Any advice would be good. It is in its hide now and was wondering if i should move the hide and give it a little cuddle, or leave it be?

is it too early to pick up after being fed yesterday afternoon?

Carl

0.0.1 Carolina Corn "Chequers"

matty18714
The Count of Corniness

United Kingdom
4428 Posts

Posted - 04/03/2009 :  22:11:04  Show Profile
Hello and welcome

Leave it for at least a week to settle in (after every meal it will also need to be left alone for 48 hours). After this time, if it is due to feed, feed it, if not you can start to handle it.

How big is the snake?

Go to Top of Page

n/a
deleted

35 Posts

Posted - 04/03/2009 :  22:12:58  Show Profile
hi,

oh, he is a baby, about 4-6 months and is about 12in in lenght.

Go to Top of Page

Tizzy
The Corn Snake Moderator

United Kingdom
1202 Posts

Posted - 04/03/2009 :  22:14:39  Show Profile
Hi Carl welcome to the site, you want to give your snakey friend at least 48 hours after each feeding before you handle it, and it's good practice to leave him a week to settle in (they get stressed when moving house too). That bit kinda sucks coz i bed you cant wait to have a play but when it is time it will be worth it!