Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

misspiggy18
Hatchling

United Kingdom
143 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2010 :  18:12:35  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hi im new to snake ownership and im looking to buy a corn but i need to gather some information i dont mean to like i dont know anything

got a couple of questions

how much would a corn cost do males cost more than females

can you use a heat mat in a plastic box im thinking of geting a large box to start with then more to a glass viv

what watt should the heat mat be

2.0.0 corn snakes (Vinnie and Leo)
1.1.0 cats ( jayda and thomas)

mozacchio
Sub Adult

Greece
1135 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2010 :  18:39:01  Show Profile  Click to see mozacchio's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hello and welcome to the forum..!
The cost of a corn depends on the morph. Price for a normal corn is usually around 15-20£ but depents on the breeder or the pet shop.
Yes, you can use a heat mat but buy a digital thermometer so that you can check the temp. The cold end should be around 21°C and the hot end 30°C.
Take a look at the caresheet
http://www.thecornsnake.co.uk/corn_snake_care_sheet.htm

Hope i helped,
Electra

Edited by - mozacchio on 21/05/2010 18:40:24
Go to Top of Page

DannyBrown91
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3070 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2010 :  19:21:51  Show Profile  Click to see DannyBrown91's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hey, welcome to the forum.

Price doesn't vary between sexes unless you get an older snake. Hatchling prices just depend on the morphs as said by Electra.

Heatmats are used on the outside of a plastic tub, regulated with a suitable thermostat and monitored with a digi thermometer.

The wattage of the heatmat varies with the size of the mat so i can't accurately advise one without knowing how big the tub is, but the heatmat should take up between 1/3 and 1/2 of the tank.