First Shed Problems??
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

11 Posts

Posted - 21/04/2010 :  17:53:21  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Im a newbie and our corn Arnie had his first shed during the night. The little guy only shed about 4 inches of skin from his head back, the rest is still attached! I have read that i could try damp paper towels but am wondering how long i should leave him to try and get rid of it himself?

gmac
The Scottish Admin

United Kingdom
5319 Posts

Posted - 21/04/2010 :  18:01:15  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i would leave him a couple of days and see what happens, if you have got Sphagnum moss put some in his hot hide this will raise the humidity a little bit and will help.

If he has not shed in a few days you could give let him run through a damp towel or dishcloth.

Or you could give him a bath with lookwarm water, no warmer than the hot end temps, but be careful as your corn may not like being in the water and will try to make a run for it. when you take him out let him run through a towel and his shed should come off.

Do not try to peel the shed from your corn this may damage the scales underneath

Edited by - gmac on 21/04/2010 18:04:15
Go to Top of Page

n/a
deleted

11 Posts

Posted - 21/04/2010 :  18:05:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Gmac Il Keep my eye on the little fella

Go to Top of Page

gmac
The Scottish Admin

United Kingdom
5319 Posts

Posted - 21/04/2010 :  18:07:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
no problems, you might want to go and say hello in the intro section and let us know a bit about yourself and let us say hello properly

Go to Top of Page

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 22/04/2010 :  09:48:09  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Gmac has given you some really good advice Lucy.