Very active, which is odd for him
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

59 Posts

Posted - 05/03/2010 :  02:19:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My snake has been v v v v active lately and not been eating at all, must be 8 weeks without a feed. Also I've noticed he's been rubbing the glass a lot, is this normal. I've seen a few post about there mating season is that wats the matter? Just I'm used to him sleeping all day lol

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 05/03/2010 :  05:12:08  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It definitely sounds as though this could be what is happening with your snake. I can only speak from my experience though, as I am no expert. When I first got Kellog (aged approx 4.5yrs) he refused his 1st feed with me and then decided to fast for the next 13 weeks. He was constantly trying to escape the viv, rubbing against the glass, trying to squeeze between the gap in the doors which was totally impossible.

Being a new owner I had no idea what was going on...and that is when I found the forum. They kept me sane while I drove them mad! They explained that he was horny and that I just needed to continue his feeding schedule as normal - despite your normal reaction being to offer them food more regularly to try and get them to eat. So every 5 days I would dangle a mouse, be totally ignored, leave it in the viv overnight and then throw it away the next morning!! There were a lot of mice binned in those 13 weeks and you can imagine my shock when one morning he just struck and ate!

Firstly you need to make sure that everything is ok with your set-up, mainly your temps. You need to be sure that his behaviour is down to this natural reason rather than any other.