Heating the viv
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

2 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2010 :  11:34:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everybody I am also new to keeping snakes, always loved them and as my 5 year old son was also interested I decided corn snakes to be best option but with all the different morph's choosing a nice one wasn't a problem, the problem is heating the viv im confused I've done alot of reading before buying our first and most say heat mats under base of viv or in viv under aspen but some reptile shop keepers and snake owners say NO the heat goes at the back of the viv stuck to the back, please help which is right or best !!
We have hatchling at mo so want to get his viv just right for when he moves in.

KITTYCAT
Hatchling

United Kingdom
492 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2010 :  11:49:25  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi there, When i first got my snakes the pet shop said to put the heat mat at the back of the viv so thats what i did at first. as snakes take the heat from their belly The heat mat should go under the base of the viv remember only cover half the viv with the heat mat so that the snake has a cool end and a hot end and also use a thermostat to control the temperature and have a hide at both ends

1.0.0 carolina corn (herbie)
0.1.0 snow corn (casper)
0.0.1 anery motley corn(diesel)
0.0.1 calafornia banded king snake (ozzy)
0.1.0 royal python (pandora)
0.0.1 boa constrictor (bullet)
1.0.0 weinmaraner (zac)
1.0.0 staffy (zeus)
1.1.0 cats (sophie n pepe)
0.0.1 fish (fish)

Go to Top of Page

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2010 :  12:10:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Firstly, welcome to the forum! This is a great place with lots of experienced owners happy to give their advice and support. You also get lots of fun and friendship .