New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jormungand
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
11 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2010 :  09:59:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My young corn snake has been in his hide all week and hasn't really moved. I noticed yesterday that he is about to shed but he seems to be taking a lot longer than normal. The last 2 sheds he did it really fast no problems. He's been really inactive and I was wondering if he maybe needs help or something. Is it normal for it to take a long time and for them to be very inactive? I just really want to know that something isn't wrong.

n/a
deleted

35 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2010 :  10:14:28  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm not an expert but I remember once my Ruby went dull, sat in her hide for ages..I was starting to get worried it had been a few days by then. Day or two later she came out of her hide, not dull and just as active as normal but she hadn't shed, then a week later she went on and shed fine it was really odd but she was fine. So it might just be something like that, and taking his time but I'm not sure like I said I'm no expert hehe

Go to Top of Page

Rik
Hatchling

United Kingdom
135 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2010 :  10:23:46  Show Profile  Click to see Rik's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
My little fella goes blue but it has taken him nearly 3 days after his eyes go clear to finally shed. Dont forget once they turn blue they cant see! Hence they stay hidden away and chill out. Once that clears they will become more active and begin the shed.

Go to Top of Page

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2010 :  10:47:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am no expert Jormungand, so you really need to wait for those who know' to answer properly....but I think that things do tend to slow down at this time of year.