Help!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Sara3502
Hatchling

111 Posts

Posted - 19/12/2009 :  17:22:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The pet store told my parents to get a live pinkie to feed my snake but I do not know what to do. he said the hatchlings will not eat frozen ones. is it ok to feed it that?

n/a
deleted

207 Posts

Posted - 19/12/2009 :  17:30:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
nooo dont do that your not allowed to do that in the uk its illegal

Go to Top of Page

Sara3502
Hatchling

111 Posts

Posted - 19/12/2009 :  17:33:42  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ok well I live in the U.S. and so it is not illegal here.what do u still think?
Go to Top of Page

Sammysnake
Yearling

United Kingdom
606 Posts

Posted - 19/12/2009 :  17:35:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Sara, I expect you'll get a LOT of replied on this one shortly. I'm not very experienced but I have read other threads on this forum disucssing this in great detail. Firstly, my understanding is that if you are in the UK then it is illegal to feed your snake with food which is still alive if you do not have a VERY good reason for doing so. I think you would need to prove that you are not doing it for entertainment so would need a good medical reason for why your snake cannot eat defrosted ones which have been killed humanely.

Did the pet shop sell you this snake? If so then they should have sold an inexperienced owner a non-feeder.

Also, the last thing you want is to get a hatchling to eat only living food as when it goes up in size from a pinkie the prey gets stronger and stronger and can badly attack and even kill a snake in its frenzy to escape. There have been some really graphic photos posted on here of what can happen to a snake which is attacked by a mouse.