Corn Snake - General Keeping information
 Corn regurge 1 st time ever, help.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ukglyn
Snake Mite

32 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2009 :  23:40:33  Show Profile  Visit ukglyn's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi I fed my corn, (aprox 2 years old) a jumbo mouse on Tuesday as I normaly do ever 10 days. He has been fine & never had a feeding problem ever before.
Tonight I went into his room & smelt a really bad smell, thinking he has poo'd I looked in to see he had regurged the mouse from tuesday?
What do you think could of caused this & is it really anything to worry about?
I am now thinking leave him a week at least then feed a smaller prey item, is this the best option?
Thanks
Glyn

www.glyntjonesphotography.co.uk

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 06/12/2009 :  00:17:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am no expert ukglyn...and would advise you to wait for GingerPony to help you out, but to do so she will need more information. To me it seems like a long time after the feed to regurge...was it definitely the mouse? Could you describe better what you could see? The other information that would be helpful is:

How long has your snake been on jumbos?
Is it fed inside or outside the viv?
Have you handled it since you fed it?
What are the temps within the viv?
What is your general set up?

I think you probably need to leave for 10 days before you feed again. Your snake needs time to recover from the regurge and its stomach gut flora to regrow and rebalance.

I am sure you will get the answers you need, especially if you provide more information. I do hope your snake is ok.

xxx

Go to Top of Page

ukglyn
Snake Mite

32 Posts

Posted - 06/12/2009 :  00:30:45  Show Profile  Visit ukglyn's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi thank you for your reply.
Right i will answer the questions in order.
Axl has been on jumbos every 10 days from 16th September.