New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

reptiledanny
Sub Adult

United Kingdom
1809 Posts

Posted - 17/11/2009 :  17:35:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i am considering buying a new corn, i already have one but want another (think i got the disease) and have been surching around. i found a site that someone is selling corns she has bred. the one that i want is an amel stripe, it is gorgeous and has a block in the middle of its body, stripe then half way down a square block and then back to stripe, but i can't get it at the mo cuz it's not feeding properly and she is having to help it feed. i am just worried that wen i get it it might stop feeding again. i just need some reasurance that once she gets it to feed and i buy it it won't stop feeding agian. i am better getting another snake instead as i am a bit of a noob even though i have had a corn for a year now but never had any problems. will it stop feeding or will it carry on once i have got it and it is used to feeding.

1.1 royal pythons 0.1 hog island boa 1.0 corn snake
sig made by stapey

SexyBear77
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3796 Posts

Posted - 17/11/2009 :  18:10:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The skill of the breeder will have a big effect on the corns chances of ever being a good feeder. Corns stop eating for many reasons- stress, insecurity, incorrect temps, bad handling, sloppy feeding routines (and on and on) so you can never be 100% sure that a corn will always be a good feeder.

If you have lots of support nearby, breeders, keepers etc,that can help you if it does stop feeding, and this woman gets it feeding well, ideally from tongs, then consider it, but if you are at all unsure, a bad feeder isn't for you. x

9.11 Cornsnakes
1.1 Hogg island boas
1.0 Dwarf Burmese python

Website- http://rassnakes.yolasite.com/
Go to Top of Page

HannahB
The Corn Snake Moderator

United Kingdom
5491 Posts