new corn snake
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

24 Posts

Posted - 14/09/2009 :  18:28:10  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
After some consideration I decided to get a corn snake which has been named rocky, we have had him for 2 days and he has been hiding all the time. When I go to pick him up he tries to get away. He seems very shy, but handles ok (no biting). I thought he would be out and about more though is this normal?

0.0.1 Rocky (Corn)

Paul Hume
Hatchling

United Kingdom
148 Posts

Posted - 14/09/2009 :  18:33:30  Show Profile  Visit Paul Hume's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I am no expert as I have only had my corn for about a week and a half, but when I got her I was advised to leave her alone for the first week and although it was tough as I wanted to hold her it seemed to make a world of difference, she handled fine straight off after a week. I would say if your having trouble with it trying to get away leave it to settle in for a week and then try and handle it.

Our House:
2 x Carolina Corns
1 x Snow Corn
1 x Amel Corn
1 x Royal Python
Go to Top of Page

misstwinkle
Egg

United Kingdom
69 Posts

Posted - 14/09/2009 :  18:34:30  Show Profile  Click to see misstwinkle's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
u should really let him settin in for a week before handlin him. they do spend alot of time in there hides. mine only ever seems to come out when its comin up to feeding time

Go to Top of Page

eeji
The Morph Master

United Kingdom
4335 Posts

Posted - 14/09/2009 :  18:34:41  Show Profile  Visit eeji's Homepage  Reply with Quote
he's settling in, so oif you leave him be for the first week or so he will start to come out more at his own pace. You'll also notice him out more in the late evenings too, this is natural behaviour.
If he's only young, then he will try to escape you at any opportunity because he is hard wired to think you are a big predator coming to eat him.