New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

2 Posts

Posted - 10/09/2009 :  23:25:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,
I'm fairly new to keeping reptiles and im hoping to get one within the coming month. However theres a few things i'm still unsure about.

How often should you handle your corn snake whilst it is young to get it accustomed to handling?
Also at what age is a corn snake considered old enough to be sold on after being born?
Lastly, what information should be provided by the breeder when a young snake is bought from them? Is there any vaccinations or checks I should make a.s.a.p after getting the snake?

Cheers for any help!
If anybody knows of any reputable breeders in the essex/herts area who are expecting hatchlings please drop me a message. I'm having trouble finding local breeders

HannahB
The Corn Snake Moderator

United Kingdom
5491 Posts

Posted - 11/09/2009 :  07:05:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hey and welcome

How often should you handle your corn snake whilst it is young to get it accustomed to handling?as its young once a day for about 5mins should be enough and as it gets older generally increase it
Also at what age is a corn snake considered old enough to be sold on after being born? most breeders make sure that the snake has had around 4 feeds before selling it on
Lastly, what information should be provided by the breeder when a young snake is bought from them? Is there any vaccinations or checks I should make a.s.a.p after getting the snake? there are no vaccinations ect that i know of for snakes.. general info provided by most breeders is the hatching date and how many feeds its had - most provide the dates aswell so you know how often its been fed

theres a show coming up on the 27th September in Brentwood,Essex, theres a post about it in the shows/meet section.. there will be plenty of breeders there who will have loads of different morphs ect

hope this helps you out