wanted corn snake
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

4 Posts

Posted - 28/08/2009 :  23:50:07  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to the forum and this is my first thread, so Hi all.

I am looking to keep a snake or two and after doing research I am looking for some corn snakes. I like the sound of hatchlings but as I am a beginner I was thinking of something abit older. my viv is roughly 4ft x 1 1/2ft this be large enough for 2 full grown corn snakes or to big for two hatchlings/small corns.I have some pics on photobucket not very good pics and any criticism appreciated:

viv :: 28-08-09_1809.jpg picture by ian07799 - Photobucket

I have a heat mat covering half the tank with a heat range from 22 to 32 degrees celcius would this be ok as (it might be a stupid question but) it does not feel that warm. So do corn snakes need that much heat.

I am a student studying marine biology so am not not looking to spend alot of money but if anybody has a snake for sale or one that needs rehoming within a reasonable distance from hull (say around an hours drive) I would more than interested.

Anyway thanks for looking

Regards Ian

Brookestar
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
2361 Posts

Posted - 29/08/2009 :  17:41:07  Show Profile  Click to see Brookestar's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
hi and welcome to the forum.

firstly heat mat should cover a 3rd of the viv (i know its picky but leads onto next point)
corns are hardy snakes and can survive in different temps but the best temp would be cold end of 25c and hot end 29c. i know its not a great difference but the temps can sometimes make corns feel uneased and therefore may not eat.