Hi all
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

4 Posts

Posted - 28/08/2009 :  23:48:34  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to the forum and this is my first thread, so Hi all.

I am looking to keep a snake or two and after doing research I am looking for some corn snakes. I like the sound of hatchlings but as I am a beginner I was thinking of something abit older. my viv is roughly 4ft x 1 1/2ft would this be large enough for 2 full grown corn snakes or to big for two hatchlings/small corns.I have some pics on photobucket not very good pics and any criticism appreciated:

viv :: 28-08-09_1809.jpg picture by ian07799 - Photobucket

I have a heat mat covering half the tank with a heat range from 22 to 32 degrees celcius would this be ok as (it might be a stupid question but) it does not feel that warm. So do corn snakes need that much heat.

I am a student studying marine biology so am not not looking to spend alot of money but if anybody has a snake for sale or one that needs rehoming within a reasonable distance from hull (say around an hours drive) I would more than interested.

Anyway thanks for looking

Regards Ian

Kellog
the nice one

United Kingdom
7308 Posts

Posted - 29/08/2009 :  02:49:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So good to hear of somebody doing their research so well before buying a pet. If you want a snake a corn is the way to go, especially as a first snake, and there are so many different morphs (types/colours) to choose from. I would definitely agree with you going on an older snake to start with, it is what I have done. Hatchlings really need a more experienced owner. When you do buy your snake get as much info as possible - preferably a care book with age, regular weights, when fed, when shed, health problems etc.