My Snake Tried to Eat Me
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

23 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2009 :  22:27:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
OK I'm new to snake keeping and have acquired a mature corn snake (pictures in the photo section).

From what I can gather the poor snake hasn’t had a great life so far and has not had a lot of human contact.

He has bitten me a couple of times, but to be honest it doesn’t hurt and maybe I’m trying to be too friendly to soon.

Anyway tonight he was quite lively, so I opened the viv door and let him climb out on my arm. He seemed quite happy to be out and was having a good look about, when he opened his mouth as wide as it would go and stuck it on my forearm. He didn’t strike like he does when given his dinner, just slowly opened up and tried to eat my arm.

I can only assume that I smell like a dead rat ???

1.0.0. Ghost Corn Nibbles
0.2.0. Cats Bubble and Squeak
0.0.16 Tropical fish.

gingerpony
Queen Bee

United Kingdom
10455 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2009 :  22:55:43  Show Profile  Click to see gingerpony's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
do you have any other pets that he could have smelled on you? or been in contact with any other animals?

doesn't sounds like normal corn behaviour lol

cornsnakes, ratsnakes, bullsnakes, boas and day geckos

Go to Top of Page

lee2308
The Corn Snake Moderator

United Kingdom
3348 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2009 :  23:55:22  Show Profile  Click to see lee2308's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Should calm down,did you give him a settling in period?

Go to Top of Page

eeji
The Morph Master

United Kingdom
4335 Posts

Posted - 06/08/2009 :  01:00:30  Show Profile  Visit eeji's Homepage  Reply with Quote
its cos he loves you ;)

Forum - Guide to Cornsnake Morphs - Punnett Square Calculator - Breeder Directory
Go to Top of Page

Dazzetski
Egg

United Kingdom
92 Posts