want to keep a corn snake n m classroom
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

2 Posts

Posted - 24/07/2009 :  11:09:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hello, i am a teacher of 10/11 year old children. i am interested in getting a corn snake as a class pet. i have done a little reserach but would like to hear your views. Do you think a corn snake would be a suitable pet - what problems - might there be? etc
PS - Where would i get one!
Thanks for your help

Teach

PunkAsF82
Yearling

United Kingdom
909 Posts

Posted - 24/07/2009 :  11:56:43  Show Profile  Visit PunkAsF82's Homepage  Click to see PunkAsF82's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
I think it's a great idea personally. But you'd have to be careful that the sanek was v. properly cared for, was in a quiet corner away from a lot of foot traffic, and that it wasn't constantly being harrased. I think it'd be v. good to teach children about snakes, and also how to care for animals that need a little more attention than a walk and a feed once a day You'll need to more than a little research though!

~~ My Zoo ~~
1.0.0 Bearded Dragon - Cooper
0.1.0 Amel corn - Lucky
0.1.0 Normal Leopard Gecko - Layla
1.1.0 Cats - Zelda the Maine Coon & Link the Ragdoll X Tabby
0.0.50 Malawi Cichlids
0.0.20 Community fish tank

Go to Top of Page

SexyBear77
Fully Grown Corn

United Kingdom
3796 Posts

Posted - 24/07/2009 :  12:05:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
snakes can easily be stressed by high traffic areas, and a classroom would be one of these. Stressed snakes can be difficult to handle, and may refuse to feed etc. Also, bear in mind that children may be upset by the fact that the class pet eats small cute rodents.

9.11 Cornsnakes
1.1 Hogg island boas
1.0 Dwarf Burmese python

Website- http://rassnakes.yolasite.com/
Go to Top of Page

matty18714
The Count of Corniness

United Kingdom
4428 Posts