Vivarium help
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Scott-P
Snake Mite

38 Posts

Posted - 25/05/2012 :  19:53:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi guys, this is my first post as I have just joined the forum. I am a complete beginner to having cornsnakes and bought my first one in April.

I have recently decided to upgrade her tank as I had her in the plastic faunarium I got as part of a starter kit. Today I visited a reptile shop and purchased a 3 ft wooden vivarium complete with a heat light fitting and a red heat bulb?? (on their advice, I just handed over the money)

Where I am starting to get confused though is the heating of the tank. I have used heat mats with a thermostat on the previous kit, but this time I have the heat light.. I did purchase a thermostat for the heat light though.

My question is.. Is the heat light suitable on its own? As I have read that cornsnakes need belly heat? Where should I go from here? Do I use the light, a mat or both? I am a complete newbie and I'm just trying to build the perfect home for her on my limited knowledge.

Sorry for such a long winded post but any help would be appreciated. Thanks

gmac
The Scottish Admin

United Kingdom
5319 Posts

Posted - 25/05/2012 :  20:08:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
aye you can use a heatlamp on its own, better with infra red lighting or ceramic so it doesnt cause any hassles being on permanantly,

Lighting is just as good as mats for heating corns they can take the heat from all over the body.

Go to Top of Page

Sta~ple
qeeun speler

United Kingdom
6129 Posts

Posted - 25/05/2012 :  20:10:51  Show Profile  Click to see Sta~ple's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Mat or lamp is fine for a corn, so long as a mat is statted and a lamp is statted with a guard, it's personal preference really. I found that lamps consume a bit more electric and I have my snakes in my bedroom so the red light really annoyed me so I switched to mats.