The Corn Snake Forum
The Corn Snake Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Corn Snake Posts
 Corn Snake - General Keeping information
 Total newbie! Help with heating pretty urgent!

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

T O P I C    R E V I E W
n/a Posted - 20/04/2010 : 15:21:57
Hi, I've spent a lot of time researching into buying a snake but I've still got quite a few questions that I need answered pretty soon before my new snake arrives!
So,I bought a faun and I have the heat mat and the stat, but it just won't go hot enough? The stat still has the light on and I have it set at the right temp with the mat underneath the faun with the probe on the inside touching the bottom.
I know the temperatures for the hot side are meant to be about 29c and the cold side about 22c does this mean for the ambient temp as well.. ?
The heat mat I know should be only 1/3 of the way across but with it only 1/3 across it struggles to get past 22c on the hot side I have it right now, halfway across and it still hasn't topped 24c (ambient temp) but the heat mat is most definitely hot? I just don't think it's getting through the faun well... I do have the faun and heatmat on top of a towel on a table so it should be more insulated? But yeah really confused would be greatful for all you help!!
12   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Sta~ple Posted - 22/04/2010 : 18:18:17